Maxwell update Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2007 » Archive February 2007 » Maxwell update « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Des Clarke
Advanced Member
Username: Desclarke

Post Number: 130
Registered: 11-2001


Posted on Thursday, February 01, 2007 - 11:50 am:   Edit Post Print Post

It's been updated for 6.1 with integration. Playing with it now, yeah, major improvment......

Just the plugin that is.....

(Message edited by desclarke on February 01, 2007)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Henk Heijnen
Junior Member
Username: Heijnen_3d

Post Number: 37
Registered: 08-2006
Posted on Thursday, February 01, 2007 - 12:15 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Des,
is the demo version also Updated?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Henk Heijnen
Junior Member
Username: Heijnen_3d

Post Number: 38
Registered: 08-2006
Posted on Thursday, February 01, 2007 - 12:27 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

To answer my own question;
Yes they are.

That means you get access tot the new plug-ins if you register for the maxwell demo.

HH
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jean-Luc DAUREIL
Intermediate Member
Username: Jean_luc

Post Number: 88
Registered: 07-2001


Posted on Thursday, February 01, 2007 - 01:04 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

:-) :-) :-)
...

(Message edited by Jean_Luc on February 01, 2007)

(Message edited by Jean_Luc on February 01, 2007)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

render monkey
New member
Username: Johna

Post Number: 1
Registered: 02-2007
Posted on Thursday, February 01, 2007 - 01:12 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Check the PDF! It starts out with basic information about Maxwell, so you might miss all the good information that comes after. (Starting on page 6). It goes into some detail regarding the translations of formZ surface styles into mxm Maxwell materials, and what the limits are, and what you will want to do in formZ or Photoshop to get the most out of your formZ surface styles in Maxwell. It also explains how to assign an mxm to an object in formZ so that it will be saved that way so you can continue modeling in formZ without having to redo everything in Maxwell Studio if you have to make revisions!
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dan Kessler
New member
Username: Dkessler

Post Number: 12
Registered: 06-2001
Posted on Thursday, February 01, 2007 - 02:54 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I can't get formZ 6.1 to load the new plugin. I extracted the "maxwellz_6_1_win32.zip" file, then placed it in the plugins folder. Am I missing something?

Has anyone had success loading the 6.1 plugin on a PC?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

render monkey
New member
Username: Johna

Post Number: 2
Registered: 02-2007
Posted on Thursday, February 01, 2007 - 03:14 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

It is working fine here on Win32. Do you have Maxwell Render now in the display menu? It does not launch a palette with the formZ launch anymore.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dan Kessler
New member
Username: Dkessler

Post Number: 13
Registered: 06-2001
Posted on Thursday, February 01, 2007 - 03:18 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

OK, I figured it out. I was expecting the Maxwell window to show up when formZ launches. If I had read the new manual first, I would have learned that the palettes are integrated into menu items...Sorry 'bout that.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Craig Williams
Senior Member
Username: Craigwilliams

Post Number: 153
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 09:12 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Did you guys receive the download link for this plugin through an email or is there a link I'm missing somewhere?

Craig
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Des Clarke
Advanced Member
Username: Desclarke

Post Number: 134
Registered: 11-2001


Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 09:17 am:   Edit Post Print Post

There was no link on the email I got yesterday, so I had to use an old link from a previous email. They were in a big rush it looks like...

Des
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jean-Luc DAUREIL
Intermediate Member
Username: Jean_luc

Post Number: 94
Registered: 07-2001


Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 09:25 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Craig,
Take a look at your e-mail...
JL
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Craig Williams
Senior Member
Username: Craigwilliams

Post Number: 154
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 09:35 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Thanks,

For some reason, NextLimit's emails always get caught in our company's spam filter. I wanted to make sure it was an email before I go bother our IT guy.

Craig
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Ulrich Kirchhoff
Intermediate Member
Username: Uki

Post Number: 82
Registered: 09-2006
Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 11:43 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Craig,

Once registered, NL sent you initially the access data to the download area. The current email is just an announcement. If you lost the download info, you should contact NL directly. Regarding those matters, they reply swiftly (sth. you cannot really say regarding technical request)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dan Kessler
New member
Username: Dkessler

Post Number: 14
Registered: 06-2001
Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 11:59 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Craig,

I didn't receive an email. I saw that the plugin was released on NextLimit's website (forum). I used the download link they sent me when Maxwell 1.1 came out.

Dan
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Craig Williams
Senior Member
Username: Craigwilliams

Post Number: 155
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 01:36 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I still have my old email from the v1.1 update (back in July 2006). However, the link doesn't work anymore. I still have my login and password.

http://www.maxwellrender.com/mntdscchprrstslsrvdrdmxwll/

Is the above link similar to what you're using?

Craig
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Bernd Meissner
Junior Member
Username: Bmeissner

Post Number: 46
Registered: 04-2001
Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 01:52 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

> Is the above link similar to what you're using?


Similar in using funny non-words, yes. But not the same. I've just sent the current link in a private mail.

Bernd
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jean-Luc DAUREIL
Intermediate Member
Username: Jean_luc

Post Number: 96
Registered: 07-2001


Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 03:22 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Craig,
You should have received the correct adress both from me and Bernd...
That's what I mean in my previous post.

JL
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dan Kessler
New member
Username: Dkessler

Post Number: 23
Registered: 06-2001
Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 03:48 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Craig,

I should clarify that I used the link from an email I recived (from Maya at NextLimit) on July 10th, which is 6 days after the email announcing version 1.1. Hopefully you got what you needed from Jean-Luc and/or Bernd.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Craig Williams
Senior Member
Username: Craigwilliams

Post Number: 158
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 03:50 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hey Dan,

Yep, Jean-Luc hooked me up...everything's great!

Thanks

Craig
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

William Liow
New member
Username: Willpowe12

Post Number: 6
Registered: 10-2006
Posted on Wednesday, February 14, 2007 - 01:54 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I just recently purchased maxwell, and upgraded to fmz 6.1. I'm a novice with maxwell, have followed the instructions for the plug-in, and cannot seem to get maxwell materials to override the formZ materials. when i apply a maxwell material to a surface style, the surface style turns into a black box. it's frustrating, because i need to set up emitters for interior lighting, and since i can't get the materials to work.. what do i do? Someone please guide me through step by step on setting up maxwell surface styles!! thank you!
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 1575
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Wednesday, February 14, 2007 - 02:33 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

William,

It sounds like you are doing it correctly. If my undrstanding of this is correct, you can specify a path to an .mxm file by using the button to the right of the path name in the dialog. If you do not hit the refresh button, formZ will use your formZ surface style when rendering in formZ, and the .mxm (material) you specify in Maxwell. If you use the refresh key, the plug-in makes a guess at the .mxm in formZ as a surface style.

I do not think that this will create an area light in formZ, if you are assigning emitters to formZ objects in order to create lighting in formZ. You will still need to create your formZ lighting. Since Maxwell does not use formZ lighting, with the exception of looking to see if the user has specified the sun position using date and time options, adding emitters is solely for lighting in Maxwell.

Also, there are known issues with this texture .mxm specification if you are using an Intel Mac. One problem is that the preview square in the formZ surface styles palette does not update and shows black. My understanding is that you will need to run formZ in Rosetta (same as PPC) mode while you wish to use these features. You can activate Rosetta mode by using get info on the app's icon in the formZ app folder.

Remember to visit the Maxwell forum as the postings there specify known issues and workarounds in a more complete fashion.

ZWebTech Support
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

William Liow
New member
Username: Willpowe12

Post Number: 7
Registered: 10-2006
Posted on Wednesday, February 14, 2007 - 03:59 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Maxwell render won't start.. is there a reason why? I tried applying Maxwell materials and made sure i clicked on "map style" and "refresh style" but to no avail. i did a few test renders, and one emitter did work... but it didn't seem like it was coming from the source object. now the render won't start.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

William Liow
New member
Username: Willpowe12

Post Number: 8
Registered: 10-2006
Posted on Wednesday, February 14, 2007 - 05:54 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Ok, so I fixed that problem by changing the path back to where the output files will be saved. Now back to square one, I simply can't assign maxwell materials. For now I've resorted to using fmz materials until I can figure it out. I'm using materials i've downloaded from the maxwell website. Is there a specific folder I have to put them in to make it work?