Crash with Render Textures Tool Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2007 » Archive February 2007 » Crash with Render Textures Tool « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dan Kessler
New member
Username: Dkessler

Post Number: 15
Registered: 06-2001
Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 12:22 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I don't know if this has been reported or not. I'm getting a crash when using the Render Textures tool. Here's what happens:

1. Create a surface style that uses a procedural texture. For example, change the color to "checker".
2. Draw an object with that surface style.
3. Activate Render Texture Tool. Click on object.
4. Double click new surface style created by Render Textures Tool.
5. Click on "options" button for color map.
6. Crash.

The "checker" color is only an example. This also happens with the bump shader. I'm using formZ 6.1.1 on Windows XP.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Ulrich Kirchhoff
Intermediate Member
Username: Uki

Post Number: 84
Registered: 09-2006
Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 12:31 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Try to delete the preferences of Z.

If that doesn't work, ADS usually asks to move the Z folder onto the desktop.

Btw here everything fine, even the way you describe it.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dan Kessler
New member
Username: Dkessler

Post Number: 17
Registered: 06-2001
Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 12:38 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Ulrich,

I just tried loading the default preferences. That didn't work. Then tried moving the formZ 6.1.1 folder to the desktop. That didn't work either. Which preferences should I delete? Can you be more specific?

Thanks,
Dan
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 1490
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 12:42 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Dan,

We are also not reproducing what you report. If you quit formZ, go to HOME: Library: Preferences and move the autodessys folder to your desktop, does this fix the problem?

If not, did you do a "Clean Install?"

Ulrich,

We do not suggest moving the formZ folder to the desktop -- perhaps you meant the autodessys folder as noted above?

ZWebTech Support
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Ulrich Kirchhoff
Intermediate Member
Username: Uki

Post Number: 85
Registered: 09-2006
Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 12:44 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Oops Z,

I meant that one. Don't want to quote you wrong of course.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dan Kessler
New member
Username: Dkessler

Post Number: 18
Registered: 06-2001
Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 12:47 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

How do I do this on a PC?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dan Kessler
New member
Username: Dkessler

Post Number: 20
Registered: 06-2001
Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 01:38 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Here's some more info on the problem and my workaround...
The raster file is written, but it gives it a crazy name. As an example, it created a file called "txr_d0bcc58dea98b34c849de4a8909d714c_colr.tif".

What I can do is:
1. Duplicate and rename the tif file to something simpler.
2. Create a new surface style.
3. Load the renamed raster file.
4. Delete the surface style with the crazy name, and replace it with the new one.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 1492
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 01:54 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Dan,

On a PC the autodessys folder is located in C:\Documents and Settings\USER\application data.

(If you don't see an application data folder, go to the Tools Menu of Windows Explorer, choose Folder Options, click on the View Tab, and select Show Hidden Files and Folders.)

If this does not solve the problem for you, did you disable virus detection before installing?

(The "funny texture name" is a somewhat random name that should ensure that the texture's name will remain unique...)

ZWebTech Support
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dan Kessler
New member
Username: Dkessler

Post Number: 21
Registered: 06-2001
Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 03:30 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I moved the autodesys folder as you mentioned. The problem is still there.

I'll try reinstalling the application. What are the minimum processes that I should be running when I install? I seem to remember a thread about this.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 1496
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 03:33 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Dan,

See this link for an easier "clean install" method:

http://www.formz.com/forum2/messages/16/12878.html?

ZWebTech Support
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dan Kessler
New member
Username: Dkessler

Post Number: 24
Registered: 06-2001
Posted on Friday, February 02, 2007 - 03:52 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Thanks for the link. That does seem to be a much easier way. I'll let you know how it goes on Monday.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dan Kessler
Junior Member
Username: Dkessler

Post Number: 35
Registered: 06-2001
Posted on Thursday, February 08, 2007 - 05:55 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

ZWebTech, I just reinstalled 6.1 using the "clean install" method described in your link above...It's still crashing. I'm really surprised this is only happening to me. Any other ideas?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 1552
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, February 09, 2007 - 05:16 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Dan,

With further testing we have now been able to reproduce this crash. Thank you for your report, we will get this corrected.

ZWebTech Support