Question on Maxwell Materials Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2007 » Archive February 2007 » Question on Maxwell Materials « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

m_s
Senior Member
Username: Maher

Post Number: 184
Registered: 08-2006


Posted on Thursday, February 08, 2007 - 09:28 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hey Guys,
I am posting my question here knowing I will get a faster and a good answer. Z community is just great!

When I install Maxwell Materials (with maps from their new materials library website), I always end up having to re-assign every texture map for every new scene I start.

I place the new materials files or (materials folders in the case of texture maps) in the mxm_files folder in the Maxwell materials folder.
The same goes for Arroy, or A-Team materials.
Do you have similar experience. Where am I going wrong? What is a good way of handling this?

Best,
Maher
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Ulrich Kirchhoff
Intermediate Member
Username: Uki

Post Number: 87
Registered: 09-2006
Posted on Friday, February 09, 2007 - 12:29 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Maher,

Yes, maxwell has a problem with paths. What I do is to copy the texture maps into the same folder as the mxm render file. MW seems to look for texture maps in the same folder as the document first. Also the new 6.1 plug-in handles some texture paths better already.

There is still an issue if you have a lot of different mxm set. Then Maxwell gets extremely confused and it happens it loads different textures for different materials.

After all it is still a baby app...(sigh)

(Message edited by uki on February 09, 2007)

(Message edited by uki on February 09, 2007)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jean-Luc DAUREIL
Advanced Member
Username: Jean_luc

Post Number: 134
Registered: 07-2001


Posted on Friday, February 09, 2007 - 02:54 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi,
Maher and Uki (i've just realised you are the UKI guy on the Maxwell forum! :-) )

I confirm about the path problem.

Personally I've created a network directory directly under my disk system (c:-).
I now find all the usefull path here: textures, materials, path for render + mxi and output scenes
1

With this organisation it's very easy to work arround the path problem when needed.

jL

Hope it helps.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

m_s
Senior Member
Username: Maher

Post Number: 190
Registered: 08-2006


Posted on Wednesday, February 14, 2007 - 08:14 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Great, Thanks jL, got to try it once my Mac coems back from repair :-(

best :-)
-m