Anyone using ArtlantisR render Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2007 » Archive February 2007 » Anyone using ArtlantisR render « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Martin Malinski
Member
Username: Notagain_uk

Post Number: 53
Registered: 08-2006


Posted on Sunday, February 18, 2007 - 06:33 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Sorta interested as not currently a user of ArtlantisR render but have seen some colleagues produce some very good quality from Archicad and Sketchup.
1-FormZ still allows import of FormZ produced .alt files?
2-Checked the demo and all seems cool, for the price it seems that vray is an overkill...comments please!!
Any overview at all would be of interest as FormZ does suuport this renderer.

Martin
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 1592
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Monday, February 19, 2007 - 08:27 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Martin,

formZ does read and write Artlantis 3.0, 3.5 and 4.5 formats, but on OS X this requires a separate installation of this plugin from the Extras: Old Plugins folder (because these files are installed in the System -- which requires an admin password...).

Also, Artlantis has a strange policy of not always being able to read files produced in older versions of Artlantis in their new versions, so you might encounter some hoops to jump through there.

ZWebTech Support
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Martin Malinski
Member
Username: Notagain_uk

Post Number: 54
Registered: 08-2006


Posted on Monday, February 19, 2007 - 11:54 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Thnx for the response, after playing with the demo it became apparent that the R version does not support backdating tho' it does seem to import all older files. Are there any future plans to support the re-import of R .alt files back into FormZ.
This is important as when i used Artlantis in the past i recall how easy it was to reposition objects in Z and then re-export.
Having said that the demo does not seem that stable for me..occassional runtime errors and error message 'something bad happened.' useful?
Also when importing texture maps and backgrounds the app sometimes hangs for several minutes.
Anyway that said i achieved some nice results very quickly.
I'll have to keep my eyes on R's progress and hope it improves.

Martin
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

steve
New member
Username: Formzizzle

Post Number: 3
Registered: 12-2006
Posted on Monday, May 14, 2007 - 04:52 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi.
I'm also toying with doing renders in artlantis.
I use a mac os x. where can I get this plugin?? Thanks Z.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 2439
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Monday, May 14, 2007 - 04:56 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Steve,

This plugin is included in the formZ DVD: Extras: Old Plugins: Artlantis.

Note that if you are using an Intel Mac, you need to run formZ in Rosetta to access this plugin.

ZWebTech Support