Question on maxwell consul Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2007 » Archive February 2007 » Question on maxwell consul « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

m_s
Senior Member
Username: Maher

Post Number: 191
Registered: 08-2006


Posted on Monday, February 19, 2007 - 10:15 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hey
I understand that when you render using the consul, you can "Save image", which will allow you to save the rendered image anywhere. Is this correct? It keeps on giving me errors both on Mac and PC.. What is it you think causing this? Any ideas?

Thanks in advance
-m
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Nicholas Herbert
New member
Username: Nik

Post Number: 7
Registered: 10-2002
Posted on Monday, February 19, 2007 - 11:52 am:   Edit Post Print Post

You need to type the filename and the file extension when you save the file. For example:

"imagename.jpg" - if you want to save the image as a jpeg

"imagename.tga" - if you want to save the image as a tga

etc.

Hope this helps,

Nik
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jean-Luc DAUREIL
Senior Member
Username: Jean_luc

Post Number: 162
Registered: 07-2001


Posted on Monday, February 19, 2007 - 02:42 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Thanks Nik for your precision, that's right.

I've noted some differences between differents image format.

Try to save the same image with all type available and look at them with a viewer that can change quickly from one to the other.

I've found some difference of quality (a kind of blur on certain surfaces)and sometimes some pixel lignes are "trimmed"

.jpg seems to work fine

Nik, do you confirm that?
Anybody else?

m-S
You can also save an .mxi which is an hdri image and the result of the rendering.

After you can load this .mxi again, adjust the exposure as you want (not in the same way of the postprocess rendering with Renderzonz) and save again any image (.jpg)

Let us know if all work fine for you.

jL

ps;
I suppose we talk about Maxwell CONSOLE

(Message edited by Jean_Luc on February 19, 2007)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

m_s
Senior Member
Username: Maher

Post Number: 192
Registered: 08-2006


Posted on Monday, February 19, 2007 - 10:11 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hey Nik, Thanks.
jL, Thanks for the extra Tip.
Now it works!

Thanks
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

michael kisselbach
New member
Username: Kissel

Post Number: 16
Registered: 11-2005
Posted on Thursday, February 22, 2007 - 07:28 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Jean Luc,

your finding oft the different outputs on different image formats is quite interesting. (.tga should be the better choice over .jpg normally ?!) i always save in .tga and sometimes are not happy with the output.
could you investigate this further and if there is a difference you please post your results on the maxwell homepage. i wonder what they are going to say on this.

michael
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Hizzle
New member
Username: Acinoynx

Post Number: 18
Registered: 10-2006
Posted on Thursday, February 22, 2007 - 01:05 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Is TGA better than TIFF? I know that jpgs will lose information as you alter and save them, but why would I chose TGA over TIFF, also is there a way so that the output render is saved automatically as a TIFF?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 1631
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Thursday, February 22, 2007 - 01:09 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hizzle,

TIF and TGA should give equal quality, (unless a particular application has issues with one of these for some reason).

ZWebTech Support
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jean-Luc DAUREIL
Senior Member
Username: Jean_luc

Post Number: 171
Registered: 07-2001


Posted on Thursday, February 22, 2007 - 02:48 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

michael,

I've investigate the question of the different image formats further.

Here is my procedure:
1-I've loaded an MXI file where I've found this before
2- I've saved 5 images
.bmp
.jpg
.png
.tif
.tga

Here is my results:

Under Windows XP I can see some differences between images BUT,

I've loaded each images under Photoshop CS2 and I've "merged" all these five images in only one file with 5 layers.

I CAN'T SEE ANY DIFFERENCES ON THE FELLOWINGS FORMATS:
.bmp
.png
.tif
.tga

ONLY .JPG show very slighty difference from all 4 others.
This only concern small colors differences visible at the pixel scale.

I can't see any differences for a 800*600 image diplayed completely.

If you check the histogram you can see some subtle differences.

Its a kind of light accentuation this is why previously I may prefer the .jpg

Now, because I've took the time to look closely what the format make to image I would prefer to make the accentuation by myself on one of the 4 other formats. (But there again, there isn't any differences beteween .bmp .png .tif and .tga)

With the .jpg depending of the image there could be some silght interstings differences in glass refections I can want to keep... but on the other hand the "accentuation effect" may increase the noise (very slightly, in truth)



I can't reproduce any of my previous problem with PSD CS2.
So I can conclude ther is a problem with the XP viewer!

I don't see any reason to report that to Juan.
I think all work as espected.

As I can see here, before thinking there is a bug I have to look and check very carrefully if I'm right...

Michael,
Can you more specific about the problem you may have with .tga?
Perhaps you encounter a real problem and I very curious to go at the end of this road...
Please let me know exactly what it could happen to your file.

I hope to be clear and comprehensible

jL
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

michael kisselbach
New member
Username: Kissel

Post Number: 20
Registered: 11-2005
Posted on Saturday, February 24, 2007 - 02:21 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

jL,

thanks for testing this.
i had no real problem with .tga it was only that sometimes i thought the images were not sharp enough. and i saw images at the maxwell forum taht were pretty sharp.
so when you mentioned the better output with .jpg i thought this could be the reason, but it seems the sharper images are either downsized or have some postpro, when you did not encounter any big differences. i will try .jpg the next time anyway, to see your little extra quality

michael

p.s. about posting in the maxwell forum: i ment to do this only if you had found out quality differences.

(Message edited by kissel on February 24, 2007)