.DWG import Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2007 » Archive February 2007 » .DWG import « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jean-Luc DAUREIL
Senior Member
Username: Jean_luc

Post Number: 163
Registered: 07-2001


Posted on Monday, February 19, 2007 - 02:56 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi,

I've a .dwg file:

application/x-zip-compressed..
DWG_zip (465.2 k)


The orginal is drawing to be in meters.

I'cannot import it to the right scale in DRAFT.
The menu "format unit" seem to be down.

In modeling Formz crash when i try to import it with:
Default +
1-Symbol Options > explode symbols > group objects Derived from symbols
2-Form Objects By layer (polylines, 3D Faces)
3-Import Hatchs Pattern

...

jL
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

eric frisch
New member
Username: Frisch

Post Number: 3
Registered: 02-2007
Posted on Monday, February 19, 2007 - 03:50 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi
jean luc
i just opened your file in formz.
it goes in modell and there three levels drawn and detail sections, also dimensions on the left side.
may be it is better to clean the dwg file before.
i work with a macbook pro
eric
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jean-Luc DAUREIL
Senior Member
Username: Jean_luc

Post Number: 164
Registered: 07-2001


Posted on Monday, February 19, 2007 - 04:24 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Thank you very much Eric for your investigations,

I've opened here too in model.
But the problems mentionned above are still there.

Can you load it in Draft wiyh option "format units" set to meters?

I thinks there is something wrong with hatch...


Thanks again,
jL
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 1603
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Monday, February 19, 2007 - 05:15 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

jL,

This file imports just fine with the default options, but you are right that it does cause problems with the specific options you have listed above.

In Modeling if you set Format Units to Meters, it will import properly, but in Drafting you will need to specify a 100x transformation scale to work around this problem.

Thanks for your reports, we will get these corrected.

ZWebTech Support
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jean-Luc DAUREIL
Senior Member
Username: Jean_luc

Post Number: 165
Registered: 07-2001


Posted on Tuesday, February 20, 2007 - 03:01 am:   Edit Post Print Post

ZWebTech Support

Thank you very much for you future corrections...
Do you allready have an idea of what could cause these modeling import problems?


As you can see with the imported file, texte inside blocks are not imported properly.

Do you know a work arround for this?
I talk about the textes for surfaces and heights on these plans.

jL
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jean-Luc DAUREIL
Senior Member
Username: Jean_luc

Post Number: 170
Registered: 07-2001


Posted on Wednesday, February 21, 2007 - 03:05 am:   Edit Post Print Post

ZWebTech Support

any input for the text problem mentionned above?

Thanks in advance

jL
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 1620
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Wednesday, February 21, 2007 - 08:34 am:   Edit Post Print Post

jL,

Block labels are not currently supported, but we have a suggestion to add this. If you Explode the Blocks before exporting, then you can work around this. There seem to be a few other issues with importing the data in this file, and we have referred this to our developers for correction. Perhaps if you export this using an older version of DWG, or if you don't use these specific import options you will be able to import the data successfully.

By the way, have you seen THIS Thread?

ZWebTech Support
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jean-Luc DAUREIL
Senior Member
Username: Jean_luc

Post Number: 173
Registered: 07-2001


Posted on Thursday, February 22, 2007 - 03:02 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Zwebtech,

I think you very much for that link. I've missed it... completly.

It was an interesseting evening reading.

I've made all i want to do with this imported dwg file so all work fine here.

I'm sure you devellopers will find and resolve any potential others anomalies :-)

jL