snap survey Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2007 » Archive February 2007 » snap survey « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Bo Atkinson
Intermediate Member
Username: Boa

Post Number: 86
Registered: 05-2001
Posted on Monday, February 26, 2007 - 07:17 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Would you please indicate:

1) Do you personally find it difficult to quickly-verify if a (face or segment or point) snap is indeed engaged as compared with the possibility that formZ is instead simply "default snapping" to an active plane?

2) Do you personally find it difficult enough to discern the state of the grid snap button, so that you find yourself toggling it a few times to invoke the currently desired state?

3) Do you have any tricks for the above?

4) Do you model in very-few colors to keep snap colors highly discernible?

Me:

1) yes
2) yes
3) no
4) no
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Des Clarke
Senior Member
Username: Desclarke

Post Number: 164
Registered: 11-2001


Posted on Monday, February 26, 2007 - 09:39 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Bo, good survey..

1) No -
2) Yes - (I find I have to drag out the grid snap button, as it's easier to see. Also, a snap preview would be nice for the grid)
3) No
4) Yes - (I find it depends on the background colour I'm using. If Bgrnd is black, I use yellow snaps. If White bground, I use pink snap)

Des
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

robert smith
New member
Username: Bob

Post Number: 21
Registered: 03-2002
Posted on Monday, February 26, 2007 - 09:43 am:   Edit Post Print Post

I really don't have any problems with snaps. Of course, if you change the background via project colors, you probably want to change other things like the grid colors -- and perhaps the object snap preview as well...

So,

no
no
no need -- unless you consider setting the snap preview color so that it is different from the background color a trick
no
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Matt Edmonds
New member
Username: Mattedmonds

Post Number: 23
Registered: 10-2001
Posted on Monday, February 26, 2007 - 11:11 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Sometimes
Yes
Maybe - To ensure my snaps are moving or transforming objects in exactly the right direction I always use the perp. switch and toggle my reference planes... key-shortcuts x,y,z change the planes... space bar toggles the perp. switch. Of course this is only useful when working with orthogonal relationships. Alternatively I sometimes define arbitrary planes to work with the switch.

I use background/snap colors like Des.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Yousef Kurdi
Member
Username: Yousef

Post Number: 60
Registered: 09-2006


Posted on Monday, February 26, 2007 - 11:51 am:   Edit Post Print Post

1. Yes
2. Yes
3. No
4. No

FZ 6.0.4
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 1644
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Monday, February 26, 2007 - 12:05 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Gentlemen,

Why is it that you are having difficulty identifying whether or not formZ is snapping to an object. In addition to the + sign that is shown on top of the snap location (in a user definable color) the Snap Cursor will change to the Snap Lock Cursor indicating when it is snapping to an object:

1

(Note the single rectangle vs. the double rectangle over the cross-hairs...)

Is this cursor too small for you to see, or is there some other problem?

ZWebTech Support
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

K.S.
Advanced Member
Username: Kim

Post Number: 129
Registered: 02-2002
Posted on Monday, February 26, 2007 - 12:45 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Ztech Support,

The graphics related to the snap options, in my mind, is one of the weaknesses of FZ. The little plus sign hides behind the cursor and when you move the cursor to see what it has snapped to you move the snap point as well. I have tried various colors but I think it is just too small/thin. The cursor changing from the snap cursor to the snap lock cursor is so subtle that in the process of working fast it can be missed.

I am sorry to say this but I find object snapping frustrating to use if I am working on a complex model. I think that Vector Works has a better system where they include sound as well as sight to improve the quality of the user interface. I use the deselect sound all the time in FZ as it means I can be listening for something while looking at what my next move will be. How about adding more sound to FZ?

Bo, thanks for starting this thread, here are my answers to your questions:
1) Yes
2) Yes
3) No
4) No

Kim
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Brian Parish
Junior Member
Username: Upsidedown

Post Number: 32
Registered: 05-2001


Posted on Monday, February 26, 2007 - 01:48 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

1. No
2. No
3. No
4. No

And please, no sounds associated with snapping. I'm sure it could turned off, but if a coworker wanted it on and I had to listen to that all day...

Brian
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dan
Member
Username: Designd

Post Number: 65
Registered: 05-2001


Posted on Monday, February 26, 2007 - 02:10 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

1- No
2- No (I alwys keep greed snap on)
3- No
4- No

Dan
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Bo Atkinson
Intermediate Member
Username: Boa

Post Number: 87
Registered: 05-2001
Posted on Monday, February 26, 2007 - 05:18 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

With a 17" screen at 1680 X 1050 resolution, the grid snap measures 1/8" X 3/16"... I like having maximum window space with small icons, but would prefer clearer status indication. Using the newer icons these days, the detectable visual change of the grid snap button has seemed to reduced to a point of uncertainty for me, unless i toggle it.... My modeling is often not orthogonal and i love formZ's ability to snap right through complex geometry. However that ability is "slowed down" sadly when toggle position is uncertain. The object snapping is not always clear. Yet at other times, when the snap condition is momentarily irrelevant for the task at hand, at such times the color change can be so clear, that i'll want it off. My modeling habit is to snap with caution as i do a lot of splines which are difficult to change later. I would liken this to driving through speed zones with a tiny speedometer. Ah yes, i know, it is always better to slow down, regardless ;-)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Bo Atkinson
Intermediate Member
Username: Boa

Post Number: 88
Registered: 05-2001
Posted on Monday, February 26, 2007 - 05:23 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Oh, regarding the audio snap, (of my previous thread), that was strictly for blue collar work out of doors in bright sun. Spring is around the corner, where I work with my hands, wishing that i could simultaneously work in Z, seriously ;-)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Michael McMillan
New member
Username: Mike

Post Number: 12
Registered: 06-2001
Posted on Tuesday, February 27, 2007 - 06:10 am:   Edit Post Print Post

As Robert, I don't have problems with snaps (and couldn't work without them), so:

No
No
See below
I never 'show colours' in wireframe; I find it far to confusing.

I assign easily remembered key shortcuts to popular snaps so I can switch snaps on the fly (more precise + controllable than combo snaps, in my view)

I always keep both the prompt and coordinates palettes open - prompts set to absolute off, world off, cartesian on, coordinates set to absolute on, world on, cartesian on. This allows me to enter meaningful values in the prompts palette whilst monitoring e.g. grid snapping in the coordinates palette.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

thedigitaldraftsman
Member
Username: Tdd

Post Number: 51
Registered: 04-2006


Posted on Tuesday, February 27, 2007 - 07:57 am:   Edit Post Print Post

All,

Let's go people, get a grip. (Sorry)

1) No

2) No

3) No

4) No


KSB
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Andrew Dehus
Junior Member
Username: Adios

Post Number: 37
Registered: 08-2006
Posted on Tuesday, February 27, 2007 - 08:43 am:   Edit Post Print Post

They work fine for me, all 'no's' here.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Richard Rush
Intermediate Member
Username: Rwrush

Post Number: 77
Registered: 04-2001
Posted on Tuesday, February 27, 2007 - 10:45 am:   Edit Post Print Post

"No" for all four questions. I have no issues with snaps.

Richard
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Christopher Lund
Senior Member
Username: Clund

Post Number: 136
Registered: 05-2003


Posted on Tuesday, February 27, 2007 - 10:56 am:   Edit Post Print Post

No
No
Yes ( http://www.neurascenic.com/extensions ) may help until Pylon releases a better one.
No

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Bo Atkinson
Intermediate Member
Username: Boa

Post Number: 89
Registered: 05-2001
Posted on Wednesday, February 28, 2007 - 06:47 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Thanks all,

I was glad to hear the true range of response, pros and cons, as we are individuals.

Indeed too much GUI with flashing indicators can be a bother. Photoshop has shortcuts to turn selection zones on and off... Yet I bet we couldn't accept vague outlines there.

I can feel more justified now in thinking about a method (which potentially has abilities for multiple detection types, like coordinates palette, grid tool button, and object snap. and I can't start on a new 3D CAD software, since I love formZ too much.


Call it a Fluke! Multimeters perform many functions, though a bit clunky with photo detector taped to laptop screen ;-) Much better than multi-meters would be a special formz output... Question:

Can formz output just a small part of it's GUI window (continuously) to another application as digital video?

I have a good "video security software" which detects slight motions of video, but it needs (Mac) digital video input.


Chris, Can you say which of your scripts applies to this thread?

(Message edited by boa on February 28, 2007)

(Message edited by boa on February 28, 2007)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Christopher Lund
Senior Member
Username: Clund

Post Number: 141
Registered: 05-2003


Posted on Wednesday, February 28, 2007 - 10:44 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Bo,

I needed to make some changes to it. Check out the following thread.

http://www.formz.com/forum2/messages/9500/18786.html?1172674547