Layout Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2012 » Archive July - Dec 2012 » Layout « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

doel
Advanced Member
Username: Doel2

Post Number: 107
Registered: 12-2007
Posted on Tuesday, September 04, 2012 - 11:10 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi

The drawing that I get after importing a view in layout is that the "old" hiddenline render?

I notised that a collection smooth objects can take a very long time to appear in the layout.
Will that be improved?

I also notised that a cilinder in top view is not recognized as a cirkel in layout. Why not?

Doel
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dan
Senior Member
Username: Designd

Post Number: 546
Registered: 05-2001


Posted on Tuesday, September 04, 2012 - 01:05 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Same questions here.
For product design purposes not recognizing arcs makes the layout solution almost useless.
Also noticed that using hatches slows down FR to crawl.

Dan
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17430
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Wednesday, September 05, 2012 - 01:46 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Doel and Dan,

We have begun looking into these issues.

The drawing that you get in layout is not a HL render per se, it is generated somewhat differently.

Collections of smooth objects are showing performance problems, thanks for your report, we'll get this corrected. One possible workaround is to use a copy of the file converted to facetted, but we realize this is a less than ideal solution for several reasons.

We have tested arcs, circles, and cylinders in layout. At first, they did not show up for us, Then, suddenly, they began to show up and have worked fine since. We created a very simple test for this, for example, draw an arc, cylinder, and circle in a new model file and save it. We create a new layout project and a new frame. We have not found the trigger yet for this, if either of you or anyone else stumbles onto or finds out what triggers this please report this to us. We will keep looking for the trigger as well.

We do see that you cannot strike radial dimensions on arcs and circles in frames even when they do display properly, we'll get this corrected.

We have made a few files with hatches, and they are performing quite nicely. Dan, can you send us a file that has the problematic hatches in it?

Thanks for your reports, and for anything else you might to them to help us nail them down.