Cannot get Form7 6.7.3 to run on Osx ... Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2012 » Archive July - Dec 2012 » Cannot get Form7 6.7.3 to run on Osx 10.7.4 (lion) « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kristoffer Tejlgaard Nielsen
New member
Username: Ktejlgaard

Post Number: 12
Registered: 08-2010
Posted on Monday, September 10, 2012 - 01:54 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Cannot get Form7 6.7.3 to run on Osx 10.7.4 (lion)

I copied the formz folder to the new computer, and it crashes during start up when it tries to load plugins.
I deleted the folder, went back on my old computer (running 0s x 10.6.8) istalled formz 6.7 once again from CD, testet that it worked properly, and moved the new install to the new computer. but got the same crash, loading the plugins.
Then I downloaded the patch and patcher to uprade to 7.6.3. Got it upgraded, but i still crashes loading the plugins during startup.

The new computer is MacBook Pro 2.6 quad core with 8gb ram.

The failure notice that os gives me is attached.

Hope i can get it to work


text/rtfFailure notice
Failure notice.rtf (43.3 k)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17511
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Monday, September 10, 2012 - 02:55 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Kristoffer,

Sorry to hear that you are having trouble. If you go to your formZ folder and rename the Plugins folder, does it then launch for you?

If so, does restoring this name, and renaming the folders inside the Plugins (one at a time) allow you to determine which category of plugins is preventing this from running on your computer?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kristoffer Tejlgaard Nielsen
New member
Username: Ktejlgaard

Post Number: 13
Registered: 08-2010
Posted on Monday, September 10, 2012 - 03:10 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

No, unfortunately changing the plugin folder name doesnt affect the crash...
Maybe it isnt related, but it crashes right after writing " looking for plugins" in the initializing window
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17512
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Monday, September 10, 2012 - 03:17 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Kristoffer,

If you also rename the Scripts folder, does this affect it?

If not, are there any "non-standard" characters in the name of the hard drive or your user name? (What is the full path to your Documents folder?)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kristoffer Tejlgaard Nielsen
New member
Username: Ktejlgaard

Post Number: 14
Registered: 08-2010
Posted on Monday, September 10, 2012 - 03:44 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Chamging names, both on the plugins and scripts folders doesnt change anything.

Name of harddrive: Macintosh HD
Path to dokuments folder: /Users/Kristoffer/Documents

Hmmm I cant really work it out
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kristoffer Tejlgaard Nielsen
New member
Username: Ktejlgaard

Post Number: 15
Registered: 08-2010
Posted on Monday, September 10, 2012 - 03:45 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

...
I just tried to install a beta of formZ 7 and i works just fine
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kristoffer Tejlgaard Nielsen
New member
Username: Ktejlgaard

Post Number: 16
Registered: 08-2010
Posted on Monday, September 10, 2012 - 04:09 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

when I try to launch the "Imager" it crashes right after looking for plugins in startup as well
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17515
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Monday, September 10, 2012 - 05:14 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Kristoffer,

We had our developers check your log, and as we suspected, it is having trouble finding and loading plugins, but they can't tell much more than that from this log. If you delete the current formZ folder and re-copy if from your other computer once more (to reset everything properly), then Get Info in the formZ folder, Unlock it, set Read / Write Permissions, click the Gear Widget and Apply to Enclosed, and then try to relaunch formZ, does this make it work?

If not, if you go to the Finder: Go Menu, hold down the Option key, choose the Library folder (that appears below Home), then go to Preferences -- and delete the autodessys folder, does this allow you to launch successfully?

If not, and if the log has changed in any way, please repost this so we can see what else this might indicate...
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kristoffer Tejlgaard Nielsen
New member
Username: Ktejlgaard

Post Number: 17
Registered: 08-2010
Posted on Monday, September 10, 2012 - 05:38 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

deleted every part of the program, and moved only the program folder again...

Found that the read/write permission was already given...
Looked under Library/preferences after autodessys and found nothing.
Searched the computer for "autodessys" and found nothing.

I am going to check up on my old computer if there is such a folder there, and if the read write has always been enabled
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kristoffer Tejlgaard Nielsen
New member
Username: Ktejlgaard

Post Number: 18
Registered: 08-2010
Posted on Monday, September 10, 2012 - 05:54 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Ok just found the autodessys folder, by following your steps more tidy.

Deleted it and everything works perfect!
Thank you so much for the support!

Youre worth reccomending
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17523
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Tuesday, September 11, 2012 - 08:47 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Kristoffer,

Great, glad this fixed it for you.

If you still have the autodessys folder (in your trash), if you can zip and send it to us, we would like to take a look and see what was causing the problem for you...
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Peter Bundgaard
New member
Username: Space1

Post Number: 13
Registered: 10-2006
Posted on Wednesday, October 03, 2012 - 07:08 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Have the same problem with new powerbook running mountain lion. Since rosetta was discontinued I cannot install on OSX - can You send me a link to the updated install - that would be great )
( You all ready did - however it ended up in my junkfilter and was deleted before I got a chance to put it into use...:-)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17821
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Wednesday, October 03, 2012 - 08:46 am:   Edit Post Print Post

<email>