Align tool behaviors Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2012 » Archive July - Dec 2012 » Align tool behaviors « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Charles Freeborn
Junior Member
Username: Charles_freeborn

Post Number: 45
Registered: 11-2008
Posted on Thursday, September 13, 2012 - 06:20 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Is it possible to have the align tool center or align one object TO another one. By this I mean one object stays put and the other one moves to whichever setting I have chosen. I have tried locking the object I want to remain stationary, but then it is not pickable. Sequence of selection doesn't seem to affect outcome either.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

robert smith
Senior Member
Username: Bob

Post Number: 868
Registered: 03-2002


Posted on Thursday, September 13, 2012 - 08:22 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Good suggestion. For now I just make a guide, align everything, and move back to the guide...
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17580
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, September 14, 2012 - 08:34 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Charles,

Thanks for your suggestion, we will see if this can be added. For now, you can adjust the objects once they have been aligned if necessary...
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kevin
Junior Member
Username: Ccs93

Post Number: 45
Registered: 06-2008


Posted on Friday, September 14, 2012 - 11:15 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Add my vote! Really good suggestion. This would be very helpful & speed up workflow. I always assumed that there was a way to do this but that I hadn't found it yet .
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Joe Siggia
Senior Member
Username: Jsiggia

Post Number: 590
Registered: 05-2001


Posted on Friday, September 14, 2012 - 12:23 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Been looking for this for quite some time now.

Joe.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Charles Freeborn
Junior Member
Username: Charles_freeborn

Post Number: 46
Registered: 11-2008
Posted on Friday, September 14, 2012 - 02:22 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

In the 2-d cad program I use one can lock an object, but it is still selectable and snapable. Adding guides or having to re-position adds steps to the process. I use align a lot.
Glad to hear others feel the same way.
Many thanks.
-C
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Marcelo Rodríguez
Intermediate Member
Username: Ztek

Post Number: 87
Registered: 05-2003
Posted on Friday, September 14, 2012 - 06:01 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

+1 for locked but selectable objects.