Component problems... Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2012 » Archive July - Dec 2012 » Component problems... « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Peder Lindbom
Senior Member
Username: Peder

Post Number: 1165
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, September 28, 2012 - 12:18 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I am having a lot of problems with components. They update whenever I load the file. They also become individual components behind my back and were even exploded when cutting them and pasting them back into the project.

I also seem to be unable to get the surface style changes I make to stick between working sessions.

Sorry for the unhelpful bug report but I dont have time to really look into it now. I think if you -ADS -fiddle a little with components you will find out yourselves soon enough.

My experience deals with components stored inside the project.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17772
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, September 28, 2012 - 01:18 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Peder,

Yes, we are currently working on a round of corrections for issues that have been identified with Components. We have not seen components become individual components (unless you choose this option when modifying components) and we have not seen them "explode when cutting and pasting" -- nor have we had any other reports of this, so if you have any further information as to what you are doing to cause this, please let us know.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Peder Lindbom
Senior Member
Username: Peder

Post Number: 1166
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, September 28, 2012 - 07:24 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Every time I change the surface style of the green part of the component in this file by opening up the style in the surface style palette and changing it. A new surface style is created when I close and reopen the file. Also the colour reverts back.
application/zipTest
test.fmz.zip (112.2 k)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Peder Lindbom
Senior Member
Username: Peder

Post Number: 1167
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, September 28, 2012 - 07:34 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Try this. Drag a surface style onto one of the components. Then press undo. Notice all the other components get deleted!
application/zipDeleted components
test2.fmz.zip (130.7 k)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Peder Lindbom
Senior Member
Username: Peder

Post Number: 1168
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, September 28, 2012 - 07:40 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

If you mirror a group of components it seems fine. But if you change between mirror self and mirror copy by pressing the alt key during this operation an Update component is triggered and undoing triggers the same disappearance as per the post above.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Peder Lindbom
Senior Member
Username: Peder

Post Number: 1169
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, September 28, 2012 - 07:51 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

For some reason these components are shaded as reversed volumes. Before my components were involuntarily exploded I had a similar issue where the wireframe got out of sync with the shaded surface. That is why I cut it and pasted it back.

True I can get the shading to fix itself by cutting these components out of the file and pasting them back in (but not all of them for some reason) But I am unable to explode them in this way.

I seem to recall similar "out of sync" issues during the Beta period.
application/zipshading issue
test3.fmz.zip (105.1 k)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Peder Lindbom
Senior Member
Username: Peder

Post Number: 1170
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, September 28, 2012 - 07:53 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

As you can see I could easily go on and probably find more issues but you get the idea -right? In the meantime I would warn people from using components. Its given me some headache in my latest project.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

robert smith
Senior Member
Username: Bob

Post Number: 900
Registered: 03-2002


Posted on Friday, September 28, 2012 - 08:36 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hmm -- working for me. What OS are you using? And do you have the same results with default prefs?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Peder Lindbom
Senior Member
Username: Peder

Post Number: 1171
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Saturday, September 29, 2012 - 05:23 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Mac os X latest and greatest(?) iMac 27 inch. Trial version with default prefs.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dennis Andes
Senior Member
Username: Dennisa

Post Number: 235
Registered: 01-2008
Posted on Saturday, September 29, 2012 - 06:36 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Definitely these and other component issues that need to be addressed.
One if my biggest problems having my team switch to fmz7 from fmz6.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17800
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Monday, October 01, 2012 - 01:59 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Dear Peder,

Thanks for you reports and posting your files. We will get the issues presented by test.fmz and test2.fmz corrected.

The issue for test3.fmz (inside out component) is more difficult. The component itself is inside out in it's definition. We of course believe this is form•Z's issue, but we haven't been able to determine how it happened yet. Do you have any further information regarding how this began?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Peder Lindbom
Senior Member
Username: Peder

Post Number: 1176
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Monday, October 01, 2012 - 05:27 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Not sure what I did for no 3 unfortunately. But it was simple. I think it may have something to do with cutting out and pasting components back into projects. That seems to do something bad to them. I tried with another file. And while I was not able to reproduce no 3 above I did notice that when applying surface styles to the components afterward by dragging the style onto the component I was able to apply it to just the one instance of the component without invoking the update component dialog.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17804
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Monday, October 01, 2012 - 05:39 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Peder,

We have continued to try to reproduce the inside out component issue as well, and have just found that dragging a material from the materials palette onto a mirrored component can actually cause this to happen. Thanks for your report, we'll get this corrected.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

mojo
Advanced Member
Username: Mojo

Post Number: 132
Registered: 07-2003
Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2012 - 08:58 am:   Edit Post Print Post

hello, did you try to create components with high poly models, for example from xfrog ? the windows wheel is turning around and around.....back to 6.7.3 :-((((

i'm very dissapointed.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17810
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2012 - 09:11 am:   Edit Post Print Post

mojo,

We created high polygon components with Onyx Tree with no problems, if you have a tree model that shows the problem you are describing please cut and paste it into a new file, compress it and send it to support@formz.com.

Just to be clear, you are reporting that you have a model that hangs while creating the component. If there is more to your report than this (for example you get the freeze during an operation other than creating the component), please include steps to reproduce the problem with your file in the body of your e-mail.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

mojo
Advanced Member
Username: Mojo

Post Number: 133
Registered: 07-2003
Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2012 - 10:08 am:   Edit Post Print Post

i am sending the file right now.
i can't translate that model into a component.

thanks for your support.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17815
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2012 - 12:16 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Mojo,

Yes, your tree (with a half million edges) is taking longer than expected. Thanks for your report, we will get this corrected.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 19014
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Tuesday, February 19, 2013 - 12:26 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

This issue has been corrected in formZ version 7.1. A pre-release version of 7.1.0 is now available.  

Please see  THIS THREAD for more details, and thanks again for your feedback.