layer - material active tool? Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2012 » Archive July - Dec 2012 » layer - material active tool? « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Paul Hunnicutt
Senior Member
Username: Asonearchitecture

Post Number: 349
Registered: 08-2011
Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2012 - 06:12 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Is there a tool or command to click on an object and make its layer active? or its material?

thanks in advance.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

robert smith
Senior Member
Username: Bob

Post Number: 911
Registered: 03-2002


Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2012 - 06:46 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

no, but that might be useful.

You can right click on objects and choose select all with same layer or same material, but of course that is different...
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

robert smith
Senior Member
Username: Bob

Post Number: 912
Registered: 03-2002


Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2012 - 08:46 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

oops double post!!
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Allan Leclaire
Senior Member
Username: Allanarch3

Post Number: 436
Registered: 12-2007
Posted on Wednesday, October 03, 2012 - 02:58 am:   Edit Post Print Post

This sounds like it could be accessible by right-clicking. It would expedite workflow tremendously!

My five cents
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Joe Siggia
Senior Member
Username: Jsiggia

Post Number: 595
Registered: 05-2001


Posted on Wednesday, October 03, 2012 - 08:10 am:   Edit Post Print Post

The Highlight picked option in the layers palette would help you find the layer.

My 2 cents.

Joe
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Paul Hunnicutt
Senior Member
Username: Asonearchitecture

Post Number: 350
Registered: 08-2011
Posted on Wednesday, October 03, 2012 - 02:04 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Thanks Joe! Even though "Make Layer Active" on right click would be faster...Highlight essentially does what I want.