join bug Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2012 » Archive July - Dec 2012 » join bug « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jaspi
Senior Member
Username: Jaspi

Post Number: 305
Registered: 04-2011
Posted on Thursday, October 04, 2012 - 05:30 am:   Edit Post Print Post

the join tool in the majority of cases dont work(give some strange results>
../49778/55127.html"../../icons/attachment_icon.gif" align=left alt="application/octet-stream">
join.fmz (125.2 k)


i really use a lot of times the Join tool and Derive Segments with join option enabled

some advise?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17833
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Thursday, October 04, 2012 - 08:43 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Jaspi,

I am not sure why these lines are causing trouble, but we have reported it so it can be corrected. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

We are not sure what you mean by "won't allow multiple selection." If we get the Derive Lines Tool, Select All, many lines are selected, and we can then click in the screen. Next we get the Join Lines tool (set an appropriate Tolerance -- like 0.01 cm) and click in the screen once more -- and everything is joined properly:

application/zip1
join2.zip (86.5 k)


Does this work for you?

Of course, this extra step should not be necessary, so thanks again for bringing this to our attention, we will get it corrected.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jaspi
Senior Member
Username: Jaspi

Post Number: 306
Registered: 04-2011
Posted on Thursday, October 04, 2012 - 09:35 am:   Edit Post Print Post

"won't allow multiple selection."
1) activate the Derive Segment Tool
2) pick the boundary lines with shift key one by one, one after another> before the last version it was possible and when you are selected all them than
3) you was able to click in an empty space and was joined automatically together

now you most use the pick tool first
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jaspi
Senior Member
Username: Jaspi

Post Number: 307
Registered: 04-2011
Posted on Thursday, October 04, 2012 - 09:38 am:   Edit Post Print Post

the pick tool is usefull with the Join Lines tool but the Join Lines tool in the majority of cases dont work
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17837
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Thursday, October 04, 2012 - 10:04 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Jaspi,

The Join tool is working in most cases, but if you have other cases that are not joining properly, please email a file that contains only these lines to support@formz.com so we can make sure that all outstanding cases are corrected.

There is also an issue that we are working on correcting whereby if you select multiple entities with the Shift key down, you may need to hold the shift key for a fraction of a second AFTER you pick the last object in order for all the entities to be picked properly. Other than this, we are not having any issues post picking multiple segments for Joining...
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jaspi
Senior Member
Username: Jaspi

Post Number: 308
Registered: 04-2011
Posted on Thursday, October 04, 2012 - 10:08 am:   Edit Post Print Post

ok i will collect and i will send you one file with Join examples
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jaspi
Senior Member
Username: Jaspi

Post Number: 309
Registered: 04-2011
Posted on Thursday, October 04, 2012 - 11:35 am:   Edit Post Print Post

the email was sent with some examples
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jaspi
Senior Member
Username: Jaspi

Post Number: 310
Registered: 04-2011
Posted on Thursday, October 04, 2012 - 11:48 am:   Edit Post Print Post

"Other than this, we are not having any issues post picking multiple segments for Joining..."

for me dont work with the Derive Segment tool
(after i pick the first line for one moment become highlighted than when i move the cursor to the next line trying to select it: the red become black: not enimore selected)

(Message edited by jaspi on October 04, 2012)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17839
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Thursday, October 04, 2012 - 12:02 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Jaspi,

Thanks for sending your file.

Derive (post pick) multiple segments is working fine for us. If you temporarily reset to default preferences and / or key shortcuts, does this fix it for you?