Tool Options-Pick Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2012 » Archive July - Dec 2012 » Tool Options-Pick « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dennis Andes
Senior Member
Username: Dennisa

Post Number: 243
Registered: 01-2008
Posted on Tuesday, October 09, 2012 - 12:32 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I think it would be a more functional layout to put Show Controls and Hide Controls on top of pallet rather then at bottom.
When it is docked I always find I need to extend pallet.
I realize that we can rt click directly on object but if it is picked from object pallet the option is not there.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Petter Andreas Larsen
Senior Member
Username: Palarsen

Post Number: 190
Registered: 05-2008


Posted on Tuesday, October 09, 2012 - 05:39 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I wish we could double-click on an object to show the controls, and double-click outside to hide them again.

Super fast!
/Petter
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

robert smith
Senior Member
Username: Bob

Post Number: 914
Registered: 03-2002


Posted on Tuesday, October 09, 2012 - 09:02 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Yes, and double click to Edit Group or Components!
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Bo Atkinson
Senior Member
Username: Boa

Post Number: 623
Registered: 05-2001


Posted on Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 03:43 am:   Edit Post Print Post

The double click might acquire too many meanings??

I think that was the impetus for shortcuts... I picked a custom short cut... Which works only after the object is already selected.

I never liked the default short cuts and always preferred custom short cuts and hope the system doesn't acquire too many fixed meanings on the keyboard. Hoping for some freedom to remain.

(Message edited by boa on October 10, 2012)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Petter Andreas Larsen
Senior Member
Username: Palarsen

Post Number: 191
Registered: 05-2008


Posted on Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 04:10 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Perhaps we can have the option to set double click as a shortcut?
I believe it would feel very natural as a result of double-clicking, to get into further available details on an object. Such as edit controls/groups/components.
A very fluid workflow.
/Petter

Hm, I just set "opt, double-click" to edit controls. Works nicely!
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 17881
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 08:40 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Gentlemen,

Thanks for your suggestions, we will see what we can do.

Petter,

Good idea, that sounds like a nice shortcut to use! :-)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Petter Andreas Larsen
Senior Member
Username: Palarsen

Post Number: 193
Registered: 05-2008


Posted on Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 10:53 am:   Edit Post Print Post

I needed to add the alt key because only a double-click "interfered with system settings"
To have a double-click that intelegently chooses to enter a group or component, or gives you the controls of an object. Would be very cool. So not a shortcut in the classic sense.
Alt double-click works for now!

I'm thinking like this: what would you expect to happen if you double-click on an object?
/petter