STL preview Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2012 » Archive July - Dec 2012 » STL preview « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Leonard Yee
Advanced Member
Username: Lenyee

Post Number: 120
Registered: 05-2010
Posted on Friday, November 09, 2012 - 01:47 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

How do I set the accuracy of the units in the STL preview? I've tried changing the project settings in both the overall and dimensions. It always seems to be only accurate to .5"

Regards,

Leonard
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 18162
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, November 09, 2012 - 02:07 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Leonard,

If you go to your File Menu and choose Data Scale = Small or Miniature, does this do what you want?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Leonard Yee
Advanced Member
Username: Lenyee

Post Number: 121
Registered: 05-2010
Posted on Friday, November 09, 2012 - 04:31 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I tried it but it still seems to be rounding to the nearest 1/2".
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 18170
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Friday, November 09, 2012 - 05:13 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Leonard,

Oops, sorry, you are right -- this is not controlled by the data scale -- it does add more numbers, but it is still rounded to the nearest 1/8" (which should generally be close enough to give you an idea of the final size of the model when it is printed). If you want exact sizes on parts, perhaps you should physically uniform scale your objects to the desired size, and then export 1:1?

(Then you can measure the parts in the project to the desired resolution -- and you can also verify that you don't have an parts that will need to be thickened -- if they are too thin to print...)

Does this help?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Leonard Yee
Advanced Member
Username: Lenyee

Post Number: 122
Registered: 05-2010
Posted on Friday, November 09, 2012 - 06:04 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I got a scuplted model and was trying to determine the extents of the model accurately. I was then suppose to scale the model to a certain size. I was hoping that the STL preview would be a quick way to determine the size.

Thanks,

Leonard