Tools I Miss Register | Edit Profile | Moderators | Log Out
Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Search

AutoDesSys Forums » form•Z Discussion » Archive 2012 » Archive July - Dec 2012 » Tools I Miss « Previous Next »

Author Message
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Steven Kennedy
New member
Username: Steve_kennedy

Post Number: 1
Registered: 11-2012
Posted on Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 10:07 am:   Edit Post Print Post

I'm enjoying this new upgrade and it has been easier to adopt than I thought but there are a few things I wish I had or could find.
Window Rulers, A numeric input for feet and inches with the scale tool instead of percentage, the ability to import views from another project, and the ability to clear rendering memory. If anybody knows where these things are hidden let me know.

Thanks!
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 18269
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 10:33 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Dear Steven,

We hope that you can use the reference plane grid in place of rulers, it has been suggested that we add these back in at some point in the future.

The measure distance tool allows you to scale an object by selecting a dimension and typing in the new value.

You can import views from a different project by using the File Open, Add to Project feature, simply check "views" in this list.

We have eliminated the need for clearing rendering memory, the only irregularity we are aware of is the background color/renderzone update issue on OSX, and this will be corrected with the next update. You can switch from one of the RZ tabs and back to force RZ to realize it needs to re-render for now.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Pylon Technical
Senior Member
Username: Pylon

Post Number: 831
Registered: 10-2005


Posted on Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 12:16 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

The measure distance tool allows you to scale an object by selecting a dimension and typing in the new value.

Was this added recently, or did I just miss this? Awesome feature!
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

support@formZ.com
Moderator
Username: Tech

Post Number: 18270
Registered: 04-2001


Posted on Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 12:29 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Ben,

This was added during the beta period, if we remember correctly.

We should specify how this helpful tool works for everyone else:

With the Measure Distance tool active, strike the dimension you want to change. In the Tool options, type in the new value and hit the update button.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Petter Andreas Larsen
Senior Member
Username: Palarsen

Post Number: 208
Registered: 05-2008


Posted on Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 01:55 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I hope to get numeric input when rotating a reference-plane.
And any place numeric input is possible.
/Petter
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

markus groeteke
Senior Member
Username: 3dworks

Post Number: 444
Registered: 11-2002


Posted on Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 01:56 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

thats indeed one of the less known shiny new gems in FZ7 :-)

(Message edited by 3dworks on November 21, 2012)
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Gary Helfand
Senior Member
Username: Gary

Post Number: 156
Registered: 07-2001
Posted on Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 06:50 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Regarding scaling an object with the measure tool— it would be nice when working with objects if this worked more like a face offset, a stretch or a single axis scale, rather than scaling the whole object.

Maybe it is just the work I do, but almost always, if I am measuring a side of an object and want to adjust it, it is just the measured side/axis I want adjusted, not a scale of the entire object.

This could be a option check box in the tool options palette.

Gary
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Pylon Technical
Senior Member
Username: Pylon

Post Number: 835
Registered: 10-2005


Posted on Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 07:41 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

+1 for Gary's suggestion
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Martin Malinski
Advanced Member
Username: Notagain_uk

Post Number: 145
Registered: 08-2006


Posted on Thursday, November 22, 2012 - 05:52 am:   Edit Post Print Post

+1 would be very useful feature
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Petter Andreas Larsen
Senior Member
Username: Palarsen

Post Number: 209
Registered: 05-2008


Posted on Thursday, November 22, 2012 - 06:55 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Transform tool with "non uniform scaling" checked

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Martin Malinski
Advanced Member
Username: Notagain_uk

Post Number: 146
Registered: 08-2006


Posted on Friday, November 23, 2012 - 04:53 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Thanks.....missed that
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

evan troxel
Senior Member
Username: Evant

Post Number: 420
Registered: 12-2006


Posted on Sunday, November 25, 2012 - 09:14 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Oh this is awesome. I'm so glad I read this thread...
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Gary Helfand
Senior Member
Username: Gary

Post Number: 157
Registered: 07-2001
Posted on Monday, November 26, 2012 - 06:56 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

To be clear, i am aware that you can have non-uniform scaling with the transform tool, the request is to have non-uniform scaling available when using the resize option available with the measure distance tool.

Gary