Transferring Project Data

Data from one project can be transferred to another project. This can be done by adding (merging) the data from one project to another or by copying and pasting selected data between projects. In either case the desired data is explicitly chosen, however, there is also implicit data that must be transferred as well. For example, when transferring objects, an object’s layer and material must also be transferred. When there is a conflict between these items (for example, both projects have a material with the same name but a different appearance), a dialog is presented offering options for resolving the conflict.

 

Figure 2.png
The Project Merge Options dialog.

• The Add To Project checkbox found in the Open dialog, can be used to transfer the contents of one project to another project. In such a case, the Project Merge Options dialog is invoked. This dialog allows for the selection of what type of data is transferred.

 

• The Copy/Paste items in the Edit menu can be used to copy objects, lights, and views from one project and paste them into another project.

 

When transferring data from one project to another, one of the following cases occurs:

 

1. The item transferred is unique. That is, the transferred item has a unique name and set of parameters. This being the most common case, the transferred item is simply added to the project.

 

2. The destination project already contains an item whose name and parameters are identical to those of the transferred item. In such a case, the program does not add the transferred item to the destination project.

 

3. The destination project contains an item whose parameters are the same as those of the transferred item, but the two items have different names. In such a case, the Project Merge Conflicts dialog is invoked.

 

4. The destination project contains an item whose name is the same as the name of the transferred item, but the parameters of the two items are different. In such a case, the Project Merge Conflicts dialog is invoked.

 

 

Project Merge Conflicts dialog

The Project Merge Conflicts dialog is invoked when items are transferred from one project to another and a conflict has occurred.

 

Each type of conflict (e.g. Materials) appears in its own tab. In each tab is a list of the items that have a conflict with a description of the conflict and the action that will take place when the OK button is clicked.

 

There are four columns in each list.

 

From “file name”: This column shows the name and an icon of the item that is in conflict with an existing item. If the names are in conflict the name will be drawn in red. In this case, the name can be double clicked to manually edit the name to a non-conflicting name. Clicking on the icon will select the item and draw a green border around the icon. When the item is selected, it will replace the existing item in the list. Clicking the icon again will deselect it, the green border will go away, and the default state of adding the conflicting item to the list will be set.

 

To “file name”: This column shows the name and an icon of the item that is in conflict with a new item. Clicking on the icon will select the item and draw a green border around the icon. When the item is selected, it will be used instead of the new item. Clicking the icon again will deselect it, the green border will go away, and the default state of adding the conflicting item to the list will be set.

 

Conflict: This column contains a description of the conflict.

 

The possible conflicts are:

• An item named “from item” exists in both “from file” and “to file” but have different parameters.

 

• “from item” from “from file” has the same parameters as “to item” from “to file.”

Action: This column contains a description of what action will be taken when the OK button is clicked.

 

The possible actions are:

•Add item “from item” to “to file.”

 

•Add item “from item” to “to file” and rename.

 

•Use item “from item” from “from file” instead of “to item” in “to file.”

 

•Use item “to item” from “to file” instead of “from item” in “from file.”

Below the list are three buttons:

 

Add All New: This is the default action for all conflicts. Clicking this button will set all conflicting items in the visible list to be added to the corresponding list. If the conflict is a name conflict, the From name in the list will be drawn in red. The name will be editable in this case by double-clicking the name. Any items with name conflicts that haven’t been resolved when the OK button is clicked will be automatically resolved by the program. If the transferred item is an attribute assigned to an entity also being copied into the project, the entity will reference the transferred palette item.

 

All Use “from file name”: Clicking this button will set all conflicting items in the visible list to use the item in the From “file name” column. If the item is an attribute, all the entities to which either the existing or the transferred item was assigned will reference the newly transferred item.

 

All Use “to file name”: Clicking this button will set all conflicting items in the visible list to use the item in the To “file name” column. If the transferred item is an attribute assigned to an entity also being copied into the project, the entity will reference the existing item with the same parameters as the transferred item.

 

Below the buttons are instructions on how this dialog works.

 

Figure 3.png
The Project Merge Conflicts dialog.